Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

Electrical testing / Troubleshooting - need your help...

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2005, 02:45 PM
Pro Rider
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Electrical testing / Troubleshooting - need your help...

Last Fall, the external Ignition coil blew on our '03 Pred-90. Didn't know how to diagnose this problem, and my local Honda / Small engine dealer charged me "big bucks" to fix this problem.

Last Spring, the stator blew on our '03 Pred-90. Billy Holt at WRH Racing helped me diagnose and fix this problem. With his assistance, I was able to create an online information package for others. For details, surf the many pictures within: http://community.webshots.com/album/262582347LVsyKh

Since posting these Stator Testing pictures, a few have asked me how to test / troubleshoot their external Ignition Coil and possible CDI problems. In this area, I have very little knowledge. Other then the info I find in simular manuals. Asking people to "swap out parts" to isolate the fault doesn't work if they don't have access to a simular Pred-90.

To help others (and myself - if we loose Spark again), I'm in the midst of building another online information package. Although written for our '03 Pred-90, its info may also apply to other 2 stroke systems.

For a look-see of what I built this morning, surf: http://community.webshots.com/album/466005413VYDflV

If you are an expert in testing external ignition coils and/or CDIs, please review these online pictures and advise what can be improved / corrected. Once built and finalized, this online info will help many others. And, get our young riders back onto their mini's seat.

Many thanks.

Old 10-05-2005, 12:21 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You da man spike!
Your a real asset to this site!

Thanks
Roman

Old 10-05-2005, 08:27 AM
Weekend Warrior