Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

How Young Is TOO Young??!

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2007, 11:06 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How Young Is TOO Young??!

Hi everyone! [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img] So, I'm totally new to this and am thinking about buying my son an ATV for his birthday, but I'm not quite sure he's "ready." I researched and found that in my state, he cannot ride on the public trails and whatnot until he's 12, however he would only be riding in my backyard (live in the country with huge yard) and I would always be outside with him, of course. Anyhow, I guess my actual question is how young do you think is too young for these types of things? i seen some on ebay that had extra child features so I could control his speed and whatnot --- anyhow, any thoughts would be much appreciated! Thnx a bunch [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Old 08-31-2007, 11:24 PM
Weekend Warrior

This question is kinda silly. It's reallly all up to the parents discretion. How mature your child is and how well they listen to you. I have an '86 suzuki 50, I have all the restricers removed but left the throttle limiter for my discretion. My four year old son does very well at not going full throttle unless he NEEDS it. I watch lots of video's with him (huevo's collection) so he knows what its all about. I turn him loose in the field while I ride my track and watch him also. He does great. Start yours slow and be patient, mine fell off twice before he learned. Now he respects it and only uses the throttle he needs. Don't yell at him when and if he makes a mistake, TEACH him the right/proper way in his terms.

Old 08-31-2007, 11:27 PM
Range Rover

I dont know how old your son is now but, have you had any thoughts of starting him off on a powerwheels battery powered machine? I started my kids off on them when they were 2 so they could get some sort of feel for them.