Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

200cc Chinese Bashan ATV Problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2008, 07:47 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 200cc Chinese Bashan ATV Problems

Hi Guys

I am brand new to the ATV world and and I live in the UK. I have just purchased a brand new 200cc ATV the brand name is "Bashan". I'm not sure if you have come across these before??

I have read a few of the posts about the chinese atv's which have been very useful. Although I am experiencing a few problems. Unfortunately the dealer I purchased the quad from is proving to be far from helpfull and to be honest i don't think he knows anything about them.

The ATV was bought to be used mainly on road for the short commute to work and off road at weekends.

The main problem i have is that the rear of the ATV seems to be bouncing/hopping when riding. I got my wife to follow me and she said it looked like the right hand rear wheel/tyre is wobbling and bouncing. I inspected the tyre and indeed the tyre is mis shaped.

I wanted to try and see if this was the cause of the bouncing or if something else had caused the trye to become mishaped, maybe a misaligned axle. Unfortunately because when im riding i can't see the tyre moving, i thought it would be interesting if i could see it for myself. So I thought i would lift the rear of the quad up by the grab handle on the back while my wife lets the clutch out while its in 1st gear. I imagined that the rear wheels would drive smoohly and i could see the wheel wobbling. But the wheels did not drive smoothly they were very jerky. Thinking about it this could have been a lumpy idel, oh i don't know!!

This brings me to the other concern. when i set off in 1st gear, there is a strange grinding sound thats not constant, it sounds like somthing is grinding when the axle is turning. only for less than a quater of a turn. This seems to disapeer when i get going. Not sure if this helps.