Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

2006 Grizzly with locked up transmission

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2015, 02:44 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 2006 Grizzly with locked up transmission

Well, so much for Yamaha quality. Was riding my Grizzly Saturday just crusing along. Started to hear a funny noise coming from either the transmission or rear end. I was kinda out in the middle of nowhere so I thought, time to head back home. It was kind of intermittent at first, thought maybe something had gotten in the brakes or wheel. Then it started getting worse. I stopped and then it felt like the brakes were locked up, would barely move. If I put it in neutral, I could still push it though. Then right after that, when I put it in gear, it just wouldn't move. I just put it in neutral, pushed it to the side of the road and walked home and got the truck and loaded it up. I'll admit, I'm no mechanic. I did notice that when I put it in gear, the rear driveshaft didn't even move. So I'm guessing that something broke inside the transmission and when I put it in gear, it just locks up. I can imagine this will be a very expensive fix. I may just take it to the local dealer who buys used quads and try to sell it as it is. I can probably get $1200-$1500 for it as it still runs great but just won't move on it own power, not in reverse either. I'm guessing this will be well over $1000 to fix and I'd rather just sell it broken instead of dumping more money in it only to have something else crap out. Its a risk you take buying a used quad I guess. I honestly had a bad feeling the day I bought it, guess I should have went with my gut. That Honda Foreman 450 4x4 that I passed up to get this Grizzly sure looks like a better choice now. The problem is, I really liked the Grizzly. It had great power and performed well up to this point. It could be a not so expensive fix but I'm so frustrated with myself for buying it and it for breaking on me that I'd rather ju