Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

Reccomendations for newbie with 250cc utility atvs?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 03:50 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reccomendations for newbie with 250cc utility atvs?

I am in the market for a Chinese 250cc utility quad, and want something big enough for me and a cute girl on the back to go camping. So I am 5'10'' and 150lbs plus another 120lb person plus camping equipment. Can most 150cc and 250cc utility quads carry that much stuff? I was looking at the dimensions of many atvs and many look like they have the exact same body, but many have different stated dimensions. I was thinking about the taotao 250d or something like that, but one website said that the 250d's dimensions were 56 inches long, and less than 35 inches wide.
<http://www.mudhappy.com/cart.p...od=24721&lsc=7943>

I am a college student and money is a huge concern, so I want to stay as close to a thousand dollars as possible. Which companies are the most reliable, which should I stay clear of? Is it worth it to get the 250cc over 150cc with the same big body?
How much should I expect to spend in maintenance and other expenses after I buy the quad?

Do you guys trailer your quads or throw it in the back of your truck? If you just put it in the bed, what kind of ramp are you using? I feel like if I could toss it in my bed easily I would use the atv more frequently

Old 04-08-2008, 04:48 PM
Trailblazer

First, I would like to tell you that since you are in effect very new to atv's, I would not buy a Chinese quad. They tend to take a little more wrenching, and if you arent mechanically inclined, you could find yourself in a bad position. They are great bikes, if you have the know how to keep them going.