Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

HELP PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2009, 12:09 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP PLEASE

Hi all im a newbie to this forum. I have a meerkat 50cc quad ,was given it by a friend as a non runner. The quad was laid up for a few months and failed to start again .The quad has no spark (no voltage coming down the ht leed) I have disconected the kill switch,still no spark.This may be a supid question but wheres the cdi located,iv seen a picture of 1 on a spares site ,but cant see 1 on the quad
many thanks in advance,Jonnny

Old 03-13-2009, 10:48 PM
Electrical Expert
Likes High Voltage In The Tub!
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default HELP PLEASE

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: jonnny
.. I have disconected the kill switch,still no spark....
... wheres the cdi located...</end quote></div>

There is more than one kill switch, any one of which can kill the spark. Plus a ground anywhere in the kill switch wiring (very common) will also prevent spark. The only way to eliminate kill switch problems (without measuring stuff with a meter) is to disconnect the kill switch wire right at the CDI. But you say you can't find the CDI. Therefore I don't think you have eliminated the kill switch circuitry quite yet.

My quad has 3 kill switches: Left handlebar, Ignition switch, and tether pull cord.

I don't know where the CDI is on your quad, but on mine it is up under the gas tank toward the front near the handlebar steering column. Usually the CDI connector shell is green on your sized quad.

Check out the following thread for helpful info with your problem:

No spark help (way down the thread eventually)

The stuff you are interested in is way down this thread, which got way off topic from its original subject line. Look for a picture of your CDI, and be sure to visit the "no spark" link listed by NTRUDEAU in a message directly above.

Lynn Edwards