Land, Trail and Environmental Issues Discuss political and social events effecting where we ride. Do not enter here unless you are willing to disagree with the statements made. What happens in this forum and Sub-Forums stays in these forums.

Another Great Trail System Being Ruined!

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2008, 01:39 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another Great Trail System Being Ruined!

Just got back from a great weekend of riding in Oscada County, MI... Mio, Kalkaska and Atlanta. But...

what is happening to the trails!? The Michigan/Federal DNR is RUINING this trail system by refusing to take care of it, let me be more clear.

Rather than groom the trails and monitor for foolish riders breaking the rules, they just go in and close down absolutely wonderful trails. What happened to Bull Gap!? I have been riding in and around Mio for over 10 years and a month ago Bull Gap was as fun as ever, now they have one way traffic going up the hill, all the great challenging side trails are closed and the fun has dissappeared. Who wants to climb a hill and then spend 5 minutes taking a bypass with speedbumps back to the bottom! This is ridiculous, I have no idea why the DNR chose this route. If anybody knows what happened over the last month please let me know. This is the second time in this trail system that fun, challenging trails have been closed down. I understand that some riders are not capable of climbing steep hills...but thats why there is the green/blue/black rating system!

PLEASE...DNR, instead of just closing trails do your job and monitor and groom these trails! We pay for ORV passes and camping for a reason, use that money to improve the area!

Old 09-22-2008, 02:15 PM
Pro Rider
Urges all riders to join ATV clubs and become part of a united front to maintain and expand trail systems.