Carpenters help............

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2005 | 04:50 PM
|
Extreme Pro Rider
Default Carpenters help............

Well guys, I'm thinking of a job working for a carpenter. The ad in the paper said "Wanted: Framers"......I have worked with a couple carpenters through the summer, and over breaks and stuff......I don't near know a lot about carpentery.........I know some though. My question is Do you think I'd be able to do this job?? I'm kinda worried about calling, because I don't want to make a fool of myself.......and what do I say.....uhh I have little experience, do you want me?? Or do they try to teach you(I'm a very fast learner).......and do they know that this is how people become as good as they are, they have to start somewhere.......Anyways, give me what you'd do........

Also, I'm starting to buy my own tools now.......and just making sure I have everything that I'd need for this job........so what do you think I should have?? I just bought my second hammer the other day(First one is a metal 22oz estwing........and second(new) is a 22oz wooden handle(hickory) fat max stanley hammer).......I also have a speed square, carpet knife, framing pencil, belt and two "pockets", and a 25' tape measure. Anything else that I need?? Name everything that you think I'd need to work for a contractor(framing).......

I know how to stick frame......I mean, its not that hard, a board every 16".......and nail it to the top and bottom plate.......I don't however know how to do windows or corners.......

Old 01-12-2005 | 04:57 PM
Pro Rider

the reality is most sights have one man with a licance, and alot of men working on 1. so, i would call, and tell them your wanting to learn all there is on the trade. tell them what you can do, and you feel you can catch on fast. heck, at the least, they will get ya cheaper, and a good laborer to boot.