Anyone Do Search and Rescue?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2006, 11:03 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone Do Search and Rescue?

I am going to a meeting next month to see about joining up with our local group.
I have extensive military experience with maps and land navigation. Plus I love riding my quad. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]
Anyone here do it and what has been your experience?
Thanks.

Old 12-12-2006, 11:13 PM
Pro Rider

That is something I alway's wanted to do. But never went through with it because my job requries me to work A minimem of 12hrs. A day. Have all the equipment for search and rescue need,s. Just not the time.

Old 02-01-2007, 08:50 PM
Range Rover

Rover,

While many ATV Search and Rescue Teams (ATVSAR's) have been around since the days of the ATC-250, new ATVSAR's are forming all over the country in response to the growing number of off-highway accidents. Most are affiliating with existing emergency service agencies within a community. For example, the counties on either side of us each have organized "Rescue Squads" with ATVSAR as a subdivision within their organizations. As my county does not have an organized ATVSAR team, and like "Middle Age Crazy" - who's got the time anymore, I'm no longer active in a rescue squad. Although I served 15 years as a volunteer firefighter, rescue technician and EMT in our district. However, I do keep my hands and feet in the field by providing assistance at several fire & rescue schools around our state each year. My business requires attendance at 8 to 12 of these events annually.

All things considered, most ATVSAR groups do it for the right reason; for the greater good of their community as a whole. However, watch out if politics plays to strong a role in the day to day operations of the organization. As in any group of human beings, petty personal and political "issues" sometimes get ugly.