No one ever told me that ridding and ATV can be dangerous?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2009, 08:05 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No one ever told me that ridding and ATV can be dangerous?

I'm new to ATV-ing. I had my first (hopefully only) crash on Sunday. I was coming up to some mud and my Predator seemed to slow down to a crawl upon hitting the water. Then it got too much traction after the mud then went airborne about 5'. The Predator then veered right towards the woods and brush. I remember coming down and traveling about 5' to find myself thrown off and lying in the brush.

I laid there for a few gathering my senses - getting over the shock of it all. I was blessed enough not to bang my head (of course I was wearing a helmet - DOT & Snell rated. I never leave home without it.). I did hurt both thighs (from the top of the knee caps to the upper part of my thighs) and my left hip. I now have hips like a girl as it swelled up. The bruises came from the sudden stop of the Predator which through me into the brush. As I ascended my thighs rubbed against the handle bars.

As for the Predator - some of the plastics are twisted, the handle bars are bent, front grab bar is bent and two flat tires on the left hand front and back. It did start with no problem. That's only a visual assessment. I will take it to have someone look at it.
I'm looking forward to getting everything squared away and getting back on it. I didn't tell the wife as I would really hear it if I did.

My thoughts are what is a man - almost 50 year old doing riding an ATV?????????
I'm just curious - how many of you have had mishaps in the last 12 months?

Old 03-23-2009, 08:19 PM
Pro Rider