Performance Mods and Project Quads Share and ask for information about modifying your ATV or building project quads.

Polaris Starter Removal

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2000, 01:27 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Is it difficult to remove the starter on a Polaris. My dealer is charding $200 + tax, while a rebuilding shop will only charge $75. Someone told me that you require a special tool.

This is my first time on this part of the Forum so forgive me if this has already been talked to death.

Old 10-10-2000, 07:28 PM
Trailblazer

If you are mechanically inclined then I would go for it and save the $125 for something else. This come straight from a tech manual.

[OL][*]Disconnect battery ground cable.[*]Remove components to gain access to recoil housing.[*]Remove housing[*]Remove starter bolts[*]Remove rock guard from bottom of vehicle.[*]Remove starter cable.[*]Use 10mm wrench to remove screws attaching the starter support bracket to the engine.[*]Remove the bolt securing the starter to the magneto housing[*]Remove the starter with bracket attached through the bottom of frame.
[/OL]
Starter installation
[OL][*]Loosely assemble support bracket to starter. Bracket bolts must be loose to allow installation of support bracket to engine bolts.[*]Install a new gasket and place the starter in place.[*]Now follow removal steps in reverse order.
[/OL]
Sorry I can't send you pictures but it looks relatively easy.

Old 10-11-2000, 07:12 AM
Pro Rider

I can spin a wrench . . . so I think I will give it a try.

Does it say anything in the manual about removing the primary clutch? The primary clutch is the one up front , right. If memory serves me correctly is this the one that requires the wheel puller?

Thanks a bunch. I think I have project on my hands tonight.

Old 10-11-2000, 10:55 AM
Trailblazer