Performance Mods and Project Quads Share and ask for information about modifying your ATV or building project quads.

Jetting

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2000 | 08:21 PM
|
Pro Rider

OK, I need to get something straight . . . how difficult is jetting?

I am probably going to get a new pipe and filter for my 400EX and I'll probably have to re-jet. I've been thinking it over and I thought that it'd be easy. Then ATV Sport comes out with this article on jetting and it has thrown me way off. To me, they make jetting seem like a nightmare.

If I were to get a new muffler and air filter for my '99 400EX, I'd probably have to re-jet, right? And if I did, I'd have to change my main jet (what else?)? How difficult it that? I've looked it over and I don't think it would be to difficult. It is right underneath the float bowl.

One more thing, I'm a total novice when it comes to mechanics. Every new bolt-on I add to my quad is my first time, so I'm going in blind, shooting from the hip. Thanks.

Old 04-02-2000 | 09:23 PM
Pro Rider

Yes the Main jet is under the Float bowl. Some carbs have a plug that you remove to get at it.
Jetting is not too bad.
Let the bike cool and turn the gas off and drain the bowl.
Take a full throttle plug reading now before the changes just to see what the mods did for the jetting.
Get a K&N.

You want a cardboard brown. White is lean. Black is rich.
There is a needle in the slide that meters the flow for mostly 3/4 & below throttle. It has a c-clip and 4 to 5 grooves for adjustments. This rarley neeeds to be changed. But if you have the time it can be fun. Raising the needle is richer. This should be the way you want to experiment with. If you raise it and you sputter at mid to 3/4 throttle put it back.

Old 04-02-2000 | 09:50 PM
|
Pro Rider

Full throttle plug reading = 5th gear full throttle?