Performance Mods and Project Quads Share and ask for information about modifying your ATV or building project quads.

New to board, my Mod-Quad

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2002, 05:03 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to board, my Mod-Quad

Hello. Nice site, lots of people and doesnt seem to have the attitude google people have. I'm a motorcycle and ATV mechanic by trade and build custom machines as a wild (expensive) hobby.
My current machine is inspired by the TT racing Yamaha XS breed bikes. I've always loved the old twins and having built a few rigid choppers and cafe-style bikes, I decided it was a decent engine to build an ice racing quad.
I began with the partspile of several leftover parts from other mods as I couldnt watch them go to waste. Rather than use a part I preferred, I used what was laying around. The front suspension and main frame from an '85 Suzuki LT250 racer, a mothballed 1980 Yamaha XS650sh, the rear swingarm and axle from a 1986 Honda ATC350X, the main frame and sub-frame of a 1984 Kawasaki KL600A, and the plastic from a 2001 Yamaha Raptor.
I used many other small parts from various bikes and quads as well. The stock XS650 engine bagan with 42bhp but with a mild cam, TX650 sleeves and venolia pistons (increasing the displacement to 743cc) hand-made headers and canisters, and a mild port job, it currently sits at 67bhp. I recently purchased a set of racing carbs for it that should bring the total above 74bhp.
If there is a way to post pics on this board, fill me in.
I have built a total of 134 custom machines in the last 15 years and while I by no means consider myself an expert, I would enjoy helping anyone I can. The only thing I like as much as building machines is talking about them.

Corum Silvermane, owner and chief mechanic, SuperSports Cycle, Poland Maine

Old 11-24-2002, 10:58 AM
Pro Rider

74 horsepower!!! thats nuts!

im not sure how to create a hyperlink, but you can copy and paste the web address.