Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

old polaris probelm

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2004, 10:37 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default old polaris probelm

i have a '92 polaris 250 2x4 2-stroke and it doesnt turn over. the story goes like this: i went to ride it and i checked the fuel it was empty so i filled it up but i had no idea that my dad had ridden it and ran out of gas and changed it to reserve without telling me. so i started riding and it died so i tried starting it until the battery ran low. then i noticed that it was on reserve so i flipped it to on and tried to start it with the pull start and i couldnt pull it at all. so i pushed all the way back and took the battery out and charged it. the next day i put the battery in and tried it all the starter did was engage and not turn the motor over. and the pull start i still couldnt even move. it had oil because i had just filled it. one thing i noticed was that when the starter engaged the pvt cover moved outwards. does anyone know what is wrong?[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

---------------
'04 polaris sportsman400
'92 polaris 250

Old 03-10-2004, 10:38 PM
Pro Rider

umm whats the problem?

Old 03-11-2004, 12:15 AM
Pro Rider

try taking the spark plug out and try the pull start. you may have filled the cylinder with gas. you cant compress a liquid. make sure the gas is off and maybe pinch the fuel line closed . if you can move the engine with the spark plug out you should see gas come out the spark plug hole. if this is what happened your float stuck or the needle and seat need to be replaced.

Old 03-11-2004, 02:30 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

actually if you ran out of GAS, maybe the cylinder is filled with OIL.

pull the plug and turn it over a few times. i think you will see oil come flying out!

(my old Scrambler 50 did this 2 years ago)

good luck!

[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 03-11-2004, 02:43 AM
Pro Rider