Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

New Kimpex Grip Heaters for ATV Trunk...wiring??

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2004, 08:42 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Kimpex Grip Heaters for ATV Trunk...wiring??

Just bought some new Kimpex ATV Trunk Grip Heaters, and wondering about wiring them. You use a four-way connector that you wire into the ATV Trunk brake light and there is a fourth wire which is a fused power wire for the Grip Heaters. Can you just tap in to the taillight wire inside the trunk for the extra green wire, or should you run a to a separate power source. I just got done wiring the trunk brake light in conduit and was hoping to keep that the same. I am not an electrical expert, so any help would be great. I have a 2002 Polaris 500 HO Extreme. Has a winch that can be moved to front or back, should I tap in to the rear winch solenoid for the green wire power? Part number for the Grip heaters is Kimpex 058464, they are awesome complete grips with a rheostat dial. Nice wiring, just confused on the green extra power wire. Thanx for looking and thanx in advance for helping.

Old 11-09-2004, 07:25 PM
Weekend Warrior

Should I post this in a general category? How would anyone wire them to their Sportsman if they were front grips? I am new to this and do not want to ruin my ride. Thanx for your help in advance.

Old 11-09-2004, 11:46 PM
Pro Rider

I'm not sure how yours work, but I put the heaters on my 250 by tapping into the accessory 12v wire under the hood, which is switched. only on sportsmans, they have a cigarette lighter plug on that circuit, so i guess you could cut and splice or use an insulation-piercing connector to tap in. I dont think you can use the brakelight because it has two intensities, running light and braking light, you would need a steady 12 volt power source, making sure it is after the key so it turns off when the quad is off.