Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

98 sportsman drive belt ?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2007, 10:53 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 sportsman drive belt ?

I have a feeling my drive belt is getting bad. Im not sure if its ever been changed or not. When I first get on it and take off, it drives sluggish for a little ways, and then picks up and runs like it should. As if it was catching another gear or something. I have never worked on one of these belts before, and a buddy of mine says the polaris belts are tuff to mess with. I dont know anyone that knows how to do it, and what I would like to know is if there are any instructions out there on the net that maybe some of you guys know of.

I would like to know kind of what im dealing with before I go tearing into it. Like special tools, or tricks to make it easier.

Thanks.

Old 09-03-2007, 09:16 AM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

a sportsman belt is really easy to replace. once you take off the foot well and the bolts to the clutch cover and unbolt the vent pipe and pull the cover off. you'll be looking at the clutches. i would clean them out w/ compressed air in you can and maybe even see if there are worn out parts. any questions fell free to ask.

Old 09-03-2007, 12:15 PM
Weekend Warrior

I was searching on the net last night and found a service manual by Clymer. Have you ever used one, and is it helpful?

Old 09-03-2007, 06:05 PM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!

there no where as good as a polaris one, not as detailed i dont beleave but way better then nothing for sure. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img] you really dont need one to replace the belt, but always nice to have you good info.

Old 09-03-2007, 09:17 PM
Weekend Warrior