Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

04 Polaris 700 Issue or Not?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2007, 12:10 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 Polaris 700 Issue or Not?

Newbie here. Seems like an awesome place so I thought I would start here.

I recently bought a 2004 Polaris Sportsman 700 EFI with approx. 350 miles and 49 hours on it. It seems to require a LOT of throttle to take-off. The motor even revs pretty high before it actually takes off. It runs out fine both on trails and thru the woods, the potential problem seems to only be an issue when taking off from a complete/dead stop.

For example, I have a fairly steep driveway and if I stop on my driveway and try to take-off it require A Lot of throttle to do so in High gear (almost half throttle).

In addition, I have noticed the breaks squeaking but they don't appear to be "holding" because I can roll the ATV by myself when it is turned off and in Neutral.

I just bought a the ATV about a week ago, plus this is my first Polaris, so is this normal or is there a potential problem here?

Any input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Shane

Old 12-04-2007, 12:14 AM
Pro Rider

bad belt or something in the clutch but im thinking your belt might be bad check the belt.

Old 12-04-2007, 12:18 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks, hoyt!

Sorry for being a complete idiot here but what is the easiest way to check the belt and how do i know if the belt is "bad".

If I do need to replace the belt, which belt should I buy? Is there a model and/or brand I should go with?

Thanks again and sorry for all the questions.

Old 12-04-2007, 12:33 AM
Pro Rider

you really need a manual...but pull the cover and inspect the belt does it look worn? take a tape measure and measure the width of the belt in a bunch of spots all the way around it and see if its the same. as far as brand i just used dayco belts in my sleds and they worked good there might be better ones.

Old 12-04-2007, 02:04 AM
Pro Rider