Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Frayed winch cable

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2009, 08:50 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Frayed winch cable

So, my winch cable is frayed in the first 1-2 feet from plowing this winter. Can I cut the frayed portion off and reattached the hook or is best to get a new cable?

If I can cut the frayed portion out how do I make a new loop and reattach the hook? What tools do I need and will the loop/hook/cable be safe under load?

Thanks for the help.

Old 03-02-2009, 09:26 AM
Range Rover

few options-replace it with a synthetic(which i just did), replace the wire rope, or look in your area for a repair place. in our town we have a rigging (crane) service that can repair cables and install eyelets. i work as a rigger for a crane outfit and we have slings made all of the time. i would be very sceptical about trying to repair it yourself. if done improperly, it will not have the proper strength. best and easiest bet is to replace and i would use a synthetic if you plow alot.

Old 03-02-2009, 10:46 AM
Pro Rider

You can fix it yourself.
1 Wrap the cable in duct tape where you want it cut.
2 cut with grinder (in a vise of coarse and in middle of tape)
3 Place at least 3 cable clamps (probably 3/16th but take your cable with you to the hardware store to get the right size and get the right and enough to be in the weight range of your winch)
4 Use the steel loop cable protector for original hook point and wrap your cable around it.
5 slide the clamp down and tighten.

Keep duct tape, good cable cutter and soccet to tighten nuts on the clamps in case you would happen to pull through the clamps. I have had this happen once in many fixes it no big deal. It does not come snapping back at you or any thing.

Old 03-02-2009, 11:12 AM
Range Rover