Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

First Quiad - 94 Polaris 400 L - Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2009, 08:01 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Quiad - 94 Polaris 400 L - Questions

Well just purchased a 94 400 L. Electric start does not work, just clicks and I can hear the Starter making a spinning sound. Is this indication of bad starter possibly? ALso, none of the lights work on the quad. Why would all of them be burnt out at once? Is there a fuse box on this thing? I have read the owners manual, but it doesn't tell me much. Is there a place online with a better maintence manual? The quad starts on the first pull, but seems to rev up and down as it sits and idles. I am thinking the carb needs cleaned. If anyone has some insight on any of these issues, go ahead and throw it my way. Thanks. By the way, this is my first quad so I am basically a newbie on how everything operates, I have always owned snowmobiles, so I am wondering how similiar they are.

Old 10-09-2009, 08:26 AM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

welcome to the forum. did you check to see if the battery is 100% charged? did you do a voltage check to see if the bike is even charging(should be above 13+ volts when reved up)? if the battery is good you should be able to (w/ the key on)jump the 2 big res wires on the solenoid to see if the starter kicks in. if jumping makes the starter work then the solenoid is bad if not then the starter is bad and maybe needs rebuilding or replaced. the lights all being off and running irraatic might be because the bike is not charging. find out if thebattery, and charging system is woring by using a voltage meter to measure the battery.

Old 10-09-2009, 09:38 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks, will check that out tomorrow morning. Where is the solenoid located and the starter? Have never worked on a quad, I know what they look like, just wondering roughly where on the quad are they mounted?