Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Snow Plows - Front or Center Mount?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2010, 09:22 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Snow Plows - Front or Center Mount?

All,

Looking into plows like a lot of you these days....what's the opinion...center mounted or front mounted setups? Advantages, disadvantages of each?

I've seen at least the Warn system has options for either and it got me to thinking.......

Thanks
Malt King

Old 02-08-2010, 09:43 PM
Pro Rider

I am in the same boat. ready to buy for my Cat 650 TRV and can't decide. The center "tube" mount has been around for years, so it is tried and proven. But I love the front mount and how easy it is to hook up, but I am worried that would put allot of stress on that part of the frame.

Old 02-09-2010, 03:47 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've been running a Glacier(front mount) for 5 years with no problems. This plow has been on my 05 800 and is now on my 09 800. It will push as much snow as I can throw in front of it and the quick mounting is a big plus!

Old 02-09-2010, 06:47 AM
Pro Rider

There always seems to be a lot of talk about what is the strongest plow out there. I think a better question might be, who has bent up what plow, and what did it take to bend it up?

I think anything can be destroyed, the question is, what broke it. The answer is usually doing something with it, it was not designed to do.

I think as long as a person is carefull and does proper maintenance, use it for what it was designed for, things will last.

If you want to hit 5 foot snow banks at 25 MPH, then you should be driving a 3/4 ton truck, with a plow designed for the abuse.

So who has tore up their plow, and what did it take?

Old 02-09-2010, 07:05 AM
Pro Rider