Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Sportsman advice needed ASAP!

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 11:10 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sportsman advice needed ASAP!

OK...bear with me. I am fairly new to the ATV world and now have a question on Sportsman 400's. I bought a 2004 Sportsman 400 about a month ago. Came with plow, winch, brush guards, hand guards, hand/thumb warmers, rack extensions, a trailerable cover, a tank bag and some sort of bag for the rear rack too. Problem...the speedo didn't work when I bought it. I took it to my mechanic and found out that the 4x4 had already been bypassed and it works fine. He said it would be between 300 and 500 to get it fixed because the speedo part was expensive and there were some wires "missing". I know this machine has also recently been serviced for the winch switch. Even though all works fine, it bugs the heck out of me that the speedo doesn't work, so I put the machine up for sale. I have someone that will buy it for what I paid, but doesn't want the plow, so I keep that. The Odometer is stuck at just over 1200 miles and I really don't know for sure how long it hasn't worked.

I have found a 2004.5 Sportsman 400 for the same price as I can get selling mine. It has upgraded tires, rack extensions, brush guards (nicer than the ones I have), hand/thumb warmers, and a winch. It has 428 miles and has been described in very good condition. Sounds like it was used at a cabin in WI on soft sand trails. The speedo works and he says he's never had a problem with the ECM. He said it's been absolutely babied...and I'd already have a plow (assuming the mounting plate would be the same between the 04 and 04.5 models).