Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

High idle and oil

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2010, 12:55 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High idle and oil

I have a 2000 polaris scrambler 400 4x2 with a DAB engine.
The problem I have is that when I get it to start it revs extremely high and I have to turn the key off to prevent it from blowing up. I have adjusted the throttle but it doesnt seem to make a difference. I cant even keep it running long enough to adjust the carb to make it idle smoother. The idle adj on the carb doesnt seem to help either way I turn it.
Also maybe on an unrelated note I have oil spitting out of the exhaust where it connects to the engine. Could that just be a gasket?

Im new to quads and wrenching on them so forgive me if this is a simple fix that I dont know about.

Thanks for any help.

Old 11-22-2010, 02:18 PM
Pro Rider

The slide is not in the carb correctly.

Old 11-22-2010, 07:14 PM
Weekend Warrior

Or you have AIR Leak. Check the boot between the carb and manifold for cracks. The oil is probably just excess oil/gas from turning it over. Take the exhaust pipe off the manifold and dump it out.

Old 11-22-2010, 10:01 PM
Trailblazer

x2 on the air leak

Old 11-23-2010, 07:43 AM
Weekend Warrior

I will check both of those. Thank you!!
How do I adjust the slide? I cant seem to get it down all the way and any adjustments I make seem to raise it higher. Is it just the adjustment on the top of the carb? If so I guess you have to fiddle with that and the throttle adjustment to find a happy spot then?

Thanks for your help!!

Old 11-23-2010, 10:34 AM
Pro Rider

If its not a major leak on the intake manifold the only other things is crank seals, happens all the time on sleds.

Old 11-23-2010, 01:44 PM
Weekend Warrior

I got the gate to shut by messing around with the piece where the thumb throttle connects and splits to the carb and oiler. Im gonna try and start it later tonight and see what happens.

Thanks for your help!