Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Broken piston skirt

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2010, 04:06 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken piston skirt

Hey guys I am a newb to Polaris ATVs. I recently picked up a 97 Scrambler 400 for $275. The top end still had its original piston, but its blown. When I removed the cylinder the skirt on the intake side was broken off. There is a large chunk of metal missing somewhere and I don't see it in the crank, exhaust, or anywhere else. I sent the cylinder out to be bored, honed, chamfered and want to make sure there is no more metal in there. Anyone run into this problem before?

Old 12-14-2010, 04:21 PM
Weekend Warrior

That is common on 2 strokes. The metal probably went out the exhaust in small peaces. If the lower end is clean it should be fine just put the new top end on it and ride.

Old 12-14-2010, 04:25 PM
Weekend Warrior

I did find very fine shavings in the reeds and exhaust port going out of the head. I dumped oil in the crank spun it a couple times and then dumped the oil out. I repeated this around 10 times and I can't see anything in there and the bearings/crank are nice and tight and spin smoothly. So should I be safe to install the top end and put this ATV back together, or should I be looking in more places for metal to be hiding?

Old 12-14-2010, 08:02 PM
Pro Rider

get a good magnet, one that extends out, put it down in the cases carefully kinda fish around and see if it brings anything up, if engine is removed turn it upside down and rotate bottom end , see if anything comes out if you dont find anymore I guess put it together and run it

Old 12-14-2010, 08:15 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thats what I did, first I used a magnet but didn't get anything. Then I removed the motor and dumped it upside down after running some 10w30 through it.

Old 12-15-2010, 09:29 AM
Pro Rider