Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

198? Trail Boss 250

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2011, 03:18 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 198? Trail Boss 250

I have a problem with my trail boss. I am new to 2 stroke engines and to polaris ATVs. My trail boss had been sitting for about 8 years . The engine would run with carb cleaner sprayed in the carb but then I cleaned the carb, fuel tank and spark plug and then When i crank it the starter barely turns and oil is coming out of the starter. I cannot seem to be able to get the starter off. The recoil is broken too. I really want to see the ATV run and drive before i put the money into a new starter.. What causes the oil to come out of the starter and any advice about getting the ATV to run will be much appreciated.

Old 12-22-2011, 03:40 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Welcome to the forum! How about fresh gas,carb rebuilt,not just cleaned, crank seals,new plug,air filter if needed and drain the engine crankcase(probably where the oil/ gas accumulation is draining down to the starter!). After sitting 8 years it needs at least that especially since the crank seals are leaking too! Hopefully you can get it going with out having to tear it all apart! Also run at least a 50-1 mixture in the first tank of gas! If the recoil spring isn't broken ,you can wind a new rope easy. Keep us posted on the progress! OPT

Old 12-22-2011, 03:55 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for your help. How can I get to the crank seals? do i have to take the drive clutch off of the engine to do so? Also do you think the starter i have and be cleaned and reused, and how do i get it off. Thanks again.

Old 12-22-2011, 04:07 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!