Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

05 sportsman 400 AWD not disengaging

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2012, 08:36 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 sportsman 400 AWD not disengaging

I am new to ATVs in general and new to Polaris. I recently purchased a 2005 Sportsman 400. Never really noticed anything going on with it until recently. And now that I have snow on the ground i can see and feel it acting up more easily. I have the AWD switch and when I switch it to AWD everything works fine. But when I turn the switch back to 2WD it doesnt fully disengage. So I shift to reverse, run it backwards about 20 feet, and go forward. It then will disengage most of the time. When I really let the rear tires break loose, the front diff will lock in like its in AWD again. I have to shift into reverse again then pull forward a few times before it finally fully disengages. I have read a little about these gearcases but I dont fully understand how they work. Any ideas what could be the issue? Thanks in advance.

Also, what type of fluid is used in the front gearcase? Is it the AGL hub fluid ? I know my owners manual says, but i would like to hear what actual users say.

Old 11-03-2012, 08:55 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts