Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

96 magnum 425 4x4 bogs then speeds up then bogs again...

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2013, 01:33 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 magnum 425 4x4 bogs then speeds up then bogs again...

Hi all, this is my first post here but I've been scouring these forums for a few months now.
First a little background...
1. I'm somewhat mechanically inclined but I'm not up on all of the terms.
2. I purchased the quad back in February to help haul firewood and carry a sprayer. When I purchased the quad the guy who sold i to me said that it was sitting for awhile and it ran rough. Thought the carb was dirty.
3. Since then I've rebuilt the carb with a sportsman 500 kit I bought off ebay (kept the main jet that was in it which was a 137.5 not 140 like spec). I've replace the spark plug, oil, oil filter, air filter, flushed the radiator and replaced a faulty temp sensor for the fan.
OK...now after I first put everything back together it worked better but still not what I thought. I took it out this past weekend after having it sit for awhile and I notice it was a little sluggish and was popping/backfiring. It starts up no problem, and idles great, but when I put it in neutral and rev it up it bogs at around 1/2 - 3/4 throttle. Actually what it does is revs up until 1/2 throttle and then bogs down, two seconds later it speeds up just a bit, then dies down again, back and forth until I release the throttle where it resumes a nice idle.
Here's what I tried...
1. Loosened the air filter to see if it was restricting the air flow - same.
2. Adjusted the fuel/air mix needle both in and out (starting from 2 1/2 turns out) - same.
3. Removed the spark plug (a bit carbon fouled considering its run less than an hour since I replaced it), cleaned and re-gapped - same again.