Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2002 Polaris Magnum 325 Idle issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2014, 10:38 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Polaris Magnum 325 Idle issue

Hey guys, I'm new to all of this, including working on ATVs. I managed to repair one I purchased by tracing all electrical issues and dropping about 200 bucks on parts that I didn't need. Anyway, I'm learning as I go. I took the carb off and cleaned it thoroughly, it's running and idles decent at times.....but a lot of times it shuts off. I'm thinking it's the pilot screw in the very bottom middle of the carb. How many turns from all the way should I screw it out? Not sure of the correct terminology or lingo but I would like any helpful information you guys could give. Thanks in advance.

Old 05-05-2014, 12:54 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts

Best to rebuild a carb since once you take it off. Just cleaning a carb doesn't always solve the problem. The 325 Magnum,Trail Boss were set up lean for the most part from the factory and cold natured also. Fuel screw is under a block off plug in front of the fuel bowl. I've found several only 1/2 turn out or so and even one completely closed.Customer had to leave it on choke for several minutes to get it to run properly and try to idle. Block off plug can be drilled out carefully and a dry wall screw can pull out the plug exposing the mixture screw. Turn it two turns out from a lightly seated position.Should help.http://www.ebay.com/itm/POLARIS-2000-2002-325-Magnum-4x4-Carburetor-Repair-Kit-Carb-Kit-/271472829509?pt=Motors_ATV_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3f350aa445&vxp=mtr

Old 05-10-2014, 02:10 PM
Weekend Warrior