Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

New to ATVing! Polaris sitting for 7 years tune up questions.

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2021, 08:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New to ATVing! Polaris sitting for 7 years tune up questions.

Hi there, I've been reading around the forums and wanted to confirm a few things. I'm new to ATV mechanics in general. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but have usually been able to work on my own vehicles, as well as perform my own maintenance.

Here is a little back story. My brother passed away 7 years ago. He was meticulous with his ATV's and, well, everything. Schedules, white boards for maintenance, everything. When he passed my sister kept his quads because she had 2 teens and was excited they could continue riding them. Well, they sat for 7 years in a garage (at least they had that) and I decided I was going to take them, so i did lol. One of them was a 2006 polaris trail blazer 250, 2 stroke automatic.

I went and got everything I could think of to get this thing running again. I currently have a new drive belt, spark plug, carb rebuild kit, and an oiled air filter. (and a cleaning kit). For parts is there anything else i should be looking at to breathe life in this beast?

Also, I went and got fluids as well. Everything is polaris brand except for the brake fluid.
I got 2 stroke oil, dot 4 break fluid, transmission fluid, fuel filter, chain oil, and a grease gun ( I already owned that). I believe that is all I need. Is there anything else I would need to look into?