Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Winch Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-1999 | 07:24 PM
|
Weekend Warrior

I recently installed a Superwinch 2000 on my Polaris Sportsman. I wired everything according to the instructions which has the positive wire going from the switch directly to the battery. Everything works fine, but I would like the ability to turn the power off to the switch until I need it. The winch specifications show a maximum of 118 amps being drawn. I went to purchase a simple toggle switch to install in-line between the battery and the switch (under the seat), but a 20 amp switch was the largest I could find. I am far from an electrical expert, so I don't want to do something that is going to create a mess with the ATV and/or new winch. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Jack

Old 11-20-1999 | 07:52 PM
Trailblazer

With all due respect, I am sorry too hear that you bought a Super winch. You should have bought a WARN winch. Honestly though the WARN winch is wired the same way, but they do draw less current for the same amount of (pulling) load. I have never had any problem with leaving the power wired through the switch.

Old 11-20-1999 | 08:40 PM
Pro Rider

Actually, JohnnyB, I would not be so judgmental as you, telling Shadow, "You should have bought a Warn winch."

Further, I would not say Warn winches draw less current that SuperWinches.

According to manufacturers' literature, the Warn A2000 draws 145 amps at 2000 pound line pull, while the SuperWinch ATV2000 draws only 100 amps (from warn.com and SuperWinch Product Guide 1999, page 21).

I use the word "only" in a relative sense; that's a lot of amps!

Shadow, if you installed the "Shortstop" circuit interrupter provided by SuperWinch between the positive battery terminal and the switch hot wire when you connected your winch, fear not. Your system is protected; an additional in-line switch as a circuit interrupter as you suggest is unnecessary.