Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Scrambler 400 mods

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-1999 | 02:30 PM
|
Trailblazer

I am new to the ATV world, and have a new 99 Scrambler 400. I am considering the EPI clutch kit as my first mod, and plan to add a pipe and carb mods later. I would like to add some speed to the top end. I have been reading the forum here and am wondering if I should proceed with the plan as is, or hold off and go with something like the RCR stage 1 kit. It is kind of confusing, what with pipes tuned for all different ranges, etc. I want to make sure that I don't "cancel out" one mod with another. Also, does EPI make other high performance stuff, (like pipes) that I could add after the clutch? So far, my riding consists of trails and sand-bars.
Whaddya think, fellas?
Thanks

Old 12-26-1999 | 01:29 PM
Weekend Warrior

EPI only makes clutches.Be sure to tell them it is for a piped engine if you plan on doing that. If I was you, I would stay away from RCR. Get either Hot Seat, HPD, or EPI mods. RCR just doesn't hold up.It pretty much goes like this...once you buy one thing, you have to buy other things for that mod to work.

Old 12-26-1999 | 02:39 PM
Range Rover

I've heard nothing but bad news about Hot Seat pipes. I installed the RCR Stage 1 kit 2 months ago and love it. I put the mid-range pipe on and it woke up my whole power band. It was reasonably price and easy to install. The difference in throttle response is unbelievable. I'd recomend it to anyone.

Old 12-26-1999 | 04:56 PM
Pro Rider

If you have no mods to your ATv now, why would you change the clutch?

The term "clutch kit" is so missleading. There is no ONE almightly clutch kit thats works for everybody. When you call for a clutch kit the dealer should ask for mods to your motor, then ask what you are trying to acheive... I.E. quicker shiftout, higher RPM's, quicker backshift, ect.. and peice together what you need , be it just a new spring, or full out with weights and a helix.