Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Why such hatred against Polaris?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2002, 12:10 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey folks.

I'm really new to the whole ATV scene, but am looking to get me a new Scrammy 500 sometime soon, since it looks like it will fit my needs exactly.

I've done TONS of reading on all the various forums on the internet, and you can't help but notice that there is a general hatred towards Polaris. It's not just a "little" bit of dislike, but flagrant hatred.

Where does all this come from? It seems guys who have never even owned one feel a need to publicly express their dislike of Polaris.

Luckily, I'm intelligent enough to make my own decisions for what is best for me, but it does leave me wondering in bewilderment the source of such dislike.

I can't even fathom why folks who don't even own them put in such a tremendous effort to publicly state their dislike.

This is even worse than the Chevy, Dodge, and Ford tradition of slagging the brand you don't own.

Cheers guys,

FH

Old 08-14-2002, 01:54 PM
Pro Rider

A few different thing going on there.
(1) Somehow it became COOL to bash Polaris, and that accounts for most of the sheep "following the pac, no brain of there own"
(2) Polaris 4X4 utilites get heavilly abused, no wimpy rev limiter in 4X4, or worse yet, 3X4, and such compared to the competition in an atemp to limit the abuse. They get beat up using the free winches they used to give away. 9 times out of ten when you see a quad (any make) getting pulled its a Polaris doing the pulling. Generally used as the WORK HORSES of the pac. This causes the occasional break down.
(3) pre-2000 or so, Polaris did have a slightly higher amount of problems then the Jap bikes.
(4) The mags have been bashing Polaris for ever, see reason (1) and add it to this.

I've owned ridden on or with about all makes and Models, in my experience Polaris gets a bad rep for no founded reason.

Old 08-14-2002, 03:30 PM