Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

400 Carb Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2003, 10:38 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 400 Carb Question

Bubba, Modquad, anyone?? This may be long so please bear with me. Ok first off, I have a Scrambler 400 4x4 with these mods. HPD airbox with Twin Air Slip on filter, 38 TMX carb, Rad Valve, Shaved head (12.5 :1 Compression), Wiseco .020 over piston, Trail port, BR9EV spark plug and clutching. Also run Polaris synthetic oil through oil pump and Klotz racing gas. Ok problem is... I have a hesitation on take off. I know It is the carb, not clutching because I have no slippage whatsoever. Ok right now I am running a 25 pilot, 58 needle in 2nd position from top, and a 430 main. I am jetting strickly from feel and a EGT gauge. According to my gauge, I am rich from idle to 1/4 throttle but I have a hard time believing i need to go down to a lower pilot?? Is this possible? I am fairly new to the jetting scene but It seems to me that anything less than 25 is low? Can anybody comment??? Another thing is when I turn my idle screw there is a point were it is idling high and a half a turn later it just drops off idle very low. Is this normal? I am at about 1800 ft. above sea level and the temp yesterday was around 55. Anybody, thanks.

Old 02-24-2003, 11:18 PM
Elite Pro Rider