Sport Quads Discussions on sport quads.

More speed?

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-1999, 10:26 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am relatively new to atv's and just recently bought myself a warrior hoping that it would be the one for me. I live in the mountains and have some pretty cool trails and logging roads nearby that I have practiced on. They run from 1/4 mile straightaways to tight turning trails throught the trees. But, I've been bitten by the speedbug. My friends have an assortment of atvs from big 4x4's to little screamers. I raced a buddy of mine who has an 87' 250r and he almost kept up with me on my new warrior and his engine was on it's last legs as it blew a bearing later on that day. I want to buy another one and let my wife ( or a visiting friend) use the warrior. I've never ridden a two-stroke before but from what I've heard and read when you want power they are the way to go. I like the control of manual clutches and want a relatively light atv that I can throw around but I'm not sure whether to get a much lauded Banshee or go with a 400ex. Any suggestions or atv's I've overlooked that might suit me?

Old 11-05-1999, 12:48 AM
Trailblazer

Well I have never rode a Banshee, but I own a '00 400EX and am very pleased with the power and speed. For the conditions you listed (Short sraightaways & tight trails)the 400EX is the way to go. Like i said i have never rode a Banshee, but have done a lot of reasearch on the both of them before i bought the 400. Even on long straightaways the 400EX utilizes every bit of the power it generates. Your decision needs to be based on what conditions your quad will be encountering. Good Luck with your choice!

Jera '00 400EX

Old 11-05-1999, 10:36 AM
Pro Rider