Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Zilla fuel mix??

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2003, 11:41 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Zilla fuel mix??

I use amsoil at 50:1, with 1 gallon of turbo blue 110 octane per 4 gal of premium unleaded. Runs clean and plug color is right on after doing a plug chop..

Could I still be starving my big bore on oil?? too lean or ok?

I've had this quad for a short time. Prev. owner had it 10 years and says he never had top end torn down. As far as I know porting, reed cage, and carb is stock. It came with a FMF pipe, turbine core sparky. I removed air box lid. The thing really runs well on this mix, however I would like to hear what has preserved other Zillas over the ages..

Keep them Zilla's rippin!!

Old 11-04-2003, 01:13 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default Zilla fuel mix??

I'm no expert, but I've owned two '87 Quadzillas, and the experience I had with 50:1 wasn't a good one.

I was using Bel-Ray MC-1 premium synthetic two-stroke oil (which is specifically formulated to be run at 50:1, says so right on the bottle) when I had a connecting rod bearing failure (the bearing where the connecting rod meets the crank pin). The quad was only on it's fourth tank of gas after a top-end rebuild and break-in. I was not happy. Maybe it was the fault of the oil, maybe it was something that I did/didn't do...who knows, but I quit running Bel-Ray oil altogether.

The factory service manual says to run a pre-mix ratio of 20:1 (that's one pint of oil for every 2.5 gallons of gas). Since I would prefer not to run such an oil rich mix (fouls plugs, contributes to heavy carbon deposits which can cause overheating), I switched to Mobil1 MX2T which is a full synthetic oil (much like the Bel-Ray MC-1) and ran a pre-mix ratio of 32:1