Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

King Quad rear axle ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2004, 12:17 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default King Quad rear axle ?

Hey Guys, I need a little help with my KQ. I broke the inner CV on the rear end (Left side) and my dealer says I have to buy the WHOLE axle ($230.00) to fix it. I looked at Ronnies.com and the Microfiche does not list a Cv joint alone,,Only the whole axle. My machine is a '98. Also, Does that rear axle slide out after I get everything out of the way or is there a clip(or something) I need to remove. I have not done this before and am under the impression that a pry bar and a BFH(hammer) will get the job done. If I am wrong will sombody PLEASE let me know. Thanks in advance,, Although this is my first time posting, I have learned alot from some of you and laughed alot at some others! (you know who you are) Thanks again JJ

Old 02-03-2004, 12:49 PM
Pro Rider

I have done the front cv joints on my 95 king quad and found that you can find used ones for half or less at the salvage yards. As for using a hammer, no, you need a cv joint puller, looks like a horseshoe and fits behind the cup and is attached to a slide hammer attache it and slide the weight back and the cup will pop off and then you can slide the whole assembly out. While you are doing this it is a great time to replace bearings and seals. You can bang on it all day but it will not come loose, there is little clips holding it on inside the axle stub. If you can find it used you will save big bucks. Buy the Clymer Suzuki King quad and quadrunner repair guide, it walks you thru most of this, except I did not see were they say to use the joint puller but that is what the service guys told me to use and it slid right off. I tried to beat on it for along time and got to the point I wanted to beat on the quad to to relieve stress. AlaskaBoy.

Old 02-03-2004, 01:02 PM
Trailblazer