Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Jetting for Dummies

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2004, 10:38 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jetting for Dummies

Ok , so i am new to this sport. I bought my bike in Feb and when i picked it up they said it was jetted for the colder weather. Now that it is warm, i am noticing some problems at the high end of the throttle. it seems like it spudders. Does this mean i need to re-jet? What is a jet? How do i know what jets are in it? How do i know what jet to buy?

Oh , my bike is a 2004 Z400. No mods yet.Well except for the Skid Plate and the Shock Covers.

Old 05-12-2004, 10:42 AM
Pro Rider
Your friend needs to stop smoking whatever it is that is rotting his brain!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

top end sputtering usually means rich jetting. try going down one on the main jet, or if the stock main is still in, maybe they raised the needle clip. check to make sure both jet and needle are stock, and you should be back to running normal, depending on your elevation ( jetting is also altitude sensitive, too )

Old 05-12-2004, 02:54 PM
Pro Rider
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

All I can say is, just find a friend or somebody that knows how to jet a carb, and have them show you.

Old 05-12-2004, 04:10 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Originally posted by: rafiki47
Ok , so i am new to this sport. I bought my bike in Feb and when i picked it up they said it was jetted for the colder weather. Now that it is warm, i am noticing some problems at the high end of the throttle. it seems like it spudders. Does this mean i need to re-jet? What is a jet? How do i know what jets are in it? How do i know what jet to buy?