Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Newbie 250r ??'s

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2004, 08:22 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie 250r ??'s

Hey all, I just picked up a '87 250r that i'm pretty much restoring. I've never really messed with quads, but i'm a tech and can put stuff together. LOL. I have it all apart now and i'm just cleaning it up and putting all new bearings in the suspenion. My main questions are with the motor. It runs now but is hard to start, and who knows when it was taken apart. So i'm going to rip it apart. I'm thinking unless anything looks messed up a piston, rings, hone the cylinder, gaskets, reeds, type deal. Any other advise on that from people who have done it before? What about boring, everyone talks about a bore, can you bore the stock cylinder? Or do you have to have it resleved or anything? Also, I was thinking about just honing the cylinder myself if it isn't bad and having someone press the piston on. However, I've heard that the cylinders on the 250 motors are hard to hone right..?? something about the location of the ports, and needing long stones that are hard to find. What other recomendations do you guys have as far as order of mods? I want to do a pretty cheap build up for now, and just get it going. I'm thinking just the rebuilt motor, a pipe, etc. When do you need a different carb, or jetting? With a pipe? Are there any other little tricks and simple cheap or "free" mods that get a little here and there like there usually is with most motors?

Then what about suspension and plastics? What would be the first suspension parts for improvement? Does anyone make a good aftermarket plasic, maybe different colors? Thanks in advance for any help. I'm sure i'll be back with more questions [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 08-09-2004, 02:08 AM
Trailblazer
Default Newbie 250r ??'s