Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Question for all Z400 owners - Are you happy with your quad?

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2005, 05:48 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question for all Z400 owners - Are you happy with your quad?

Hello all. I'm new to the forums here but have been lurking around for a couple of days doing my research. I've been riding motorcycles for over 20 years, both street and dirt. I've ridden quads a handful of times in the past and am now ready to purchase a new one. So far, my research is pointing me towards a Honda or Suzuki. I just got back from local dealers and I sat on a Raptor, YFZ450, TRX450 and a TRX400. I liked the way I felt on the Hondas. Very comfortable and natural. The seat on the YZF seemed a little stiff. I will need to visit a Suzuki dealer for the Z400.

Although I don't require the fastest machine available, I would like something with respectable speed and pep. Another thing to consider is that I'm a relatively big guy at 6'2" 210 lbs. The riding I plan to do is fairly diverse -wooded trails, sand dunes and dirt. So, something that can handle all-around conditions would be ideal. With all that said, I'd like to know if all of you Z400 owners feel that this quad would be a fit for me. Is everyone happy with theirs? Any quality issues with Suzuki as opposed to Honda? I know Hondas are touted as being the most reliable but I've owned bikes from all 4 of the big Japanese manufacturers and they were all quality machines to me. So long as I like the way I feel when I sit on the Z400 whenever I visit the dealer, I think my choices are between the TRX450, TRX400 or Z400. The TRZ450 might be a bit race-oriented for me. Not sure yet.

Thanks in advance for all your advice.

Old 04-16-2005, 06:13 PM
Pro Rider