Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

vinson 500 big problem help plz

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2005 | 04:10 AM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default vinson 500 big problem help plz

Hi everyone i am new to this, first my name is al i am 20 male from north ridgeville ohio i just bought my atv and got about 160mi on it, I changed the oil and took it easy on the thing for the first 100 mi then got a little harder on it.

Anyways i was riding the other day and i was going throw alot of mud and water and the thing was getting covered in water, well then i hit a huge like pond and water came up to the seat and the thing stalled! It started rate up no problems i dont think water got into the exhast but not sure, the air box was empty and the thing was running a little ruff so i just rode around for like a min longer and all of a sudden the thing would not go faster then like 5mph and was backfiring and missing like crazy!

So i decided to just let it idle for a little bit say 10 min and it would idle great, Then it you hit the gas a little it would idle up and tiny bit and then totally bog out and if i pushed all the way it would almost die but didnt, So i tried riding like that and the fastest i could go was about 5 mph in 1st gear with it floored! I tried running the chock for a sec and it ran a little better and could idle and drive a little faster but i know i couldnt ride like that so i let it sit for a while like 30 min then started rate up and would ride okay for about 5 min then run like crap and miss, backfire ect. so i rode around the like track for about 8 miles doing about 30-50 mph after it sat and it would do okay some of the time and sometimes it would backfire and miss? Then it was last so i went home,