Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Anyone Using Delo 400 in their Big Bore ATV?

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2005, 03:25 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone Using Delo 400 in their Big Bore?

I've been using Delo 400 15W-40 in my sport quads for several
years. Are there any negative comments on using it in my
King Quad when it's time to change oil.

Old 12-13-2005, 10:09 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Anyone Using Delo 400 in their Big Bore ATV?

Is this a motorcycle oil, or car oil? You are best off with a mororcycle specific oil that is API SG/JASO MA, and here is why:

http://www.thumperfaq.com/oil.htm

I am a biochemist by profession, and have done a lot of study on the chemistry of oils. By far the finest oils are the Ester Synthetics. They are a little more expensive, but you paid a lot for your machines, so why not give them the best protection available??? MAXIMA EXTRA is my choice!

http://www.maximausa.com/products/4s...synthextra.asp

http://www.maximausa.com/technical/l...beNews2002.pdf

Old 12-13-2005, 10:39 AM
Range Rover

I know I received a bulletin from Rekluse Clutch last year stating that Delo has been reformulated w/Moly and should not be used with wet clutch set ups and that they recommended Shell Rotella T instead. Not sure if/how it would matter on the King. It's a CVT belt system isn't it?

"We have confirmed that Chevron has recently made a change to the formulation of DELO 400 Oil to meet the new CI-4+ specification. To meet the new specification, Chevron has added 260ppm of Moly. Moly is not compatible with wet clutches.

The new formulation appears to just be making its way into distribution, our local Chevron Oil dealer still has some CI-4 oil on the shelf. DELO 400 with the CH-4 specification is also ok.