Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

2008 King Quad 750 winch

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2008, 08:30 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 King Quad 750 winch

I just got a new King Quad 750 (actually won it from a local TV station). I am new to ATV's, only rode one once about 10 years ago. What should I look for in a winch? From reading around, I think I need a specific mounting bracket and the winch itself. Can someone (maybe someone that has this machine) give me a run down on how to install one?

Thanks.

Old 12-14-2008, 08:51 PM
Pro Rider

i do not have a KQ, but winch instalation is pretty straite forward on most mechines. the winch will go on your mechine behind the front plastic/frame area. there is an empty space and frame tubeing, that is where the winch mount plate will join your frame(and the winch on top of that). winches will come with some kind of a flair head, usually a roller flairhead; that will go on the very front of the ATV, on the frameing. probably the biggest pain will be wireing. wires go from winch to a circut, then battery and a switch.

any good winch company will provide phone support and a detailed instruction manual. MOST IMPORTANTLY: make sure that the winch you purchase comes with a model specific mounting plate!

some good proven winches are: Warn, ramsey, and i say viper winches.

if your looking at viper winches go to http://motoalliance.com/

im not favoring viper, just most people dont get them direct from the manufacturer and deal with ebay instead.. ramsey and warn also have good websites, alot easier to find

good luck, and installing a winch is something you can do yourself

Old 12-14-2008, 08:52 PM
Weekend Warrior