Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Help!! My Eiger is choking out....

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2012, 10:44 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help!! My Eiger is choking out....

Hi Guys! Newbie here....Learned lots of good info the past few days I've been browsing. Looking forward to learning much, much more....

So....I purchased an '07 Eiger Auto 4x4 this past week from a guy who never rode it hardly at all since he bought it new in '07. It just barely turned over 300 miles. My question is this: I just put a UNI filter on it and removed the spark arrestor in the muffler.....Now when I hit the throttle in Nuetral, it chokes out and sounds like it's gulping for air. Opened the Air box and it made it worse. THere is just not any power if I hit the throttle.....it will die unless I let off the throttle. However, If I build up from mid to full throttle SLOWLY it will keep up.....but not when it is hammered.

I've read the thread "Eiger jetting, stock is 122! WAY too lean" posted by AKSAFARI....wondering if some of that may be applicable here. Have not removed the carb yet....Will clipping the spring help??

So.....WHAT IS THE PROBLEM?? Too Lean? Too Rich? Something else??
THanks in advance guys/gals!!

-Cowbee

Old 02-17-2012, 08:14 AM
Pro Rider

Yea they are to lean from the factory, and any mod (including removing the spark arrestor) will just make it worse. I see a jet kit in your future

Old 02-17-2012, 10:55 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks. I live @ 4500' elevation and ride at that or higher...on up to about 8-9k feet sometimes. Which jet size, or jet kit, should I purchase with that in mind?? And how far out should my mixture screw be with this particular recommended jet?

Old 02-18-2012, 05:34 PM
Pro Rider

mixture screw at 2.5 turns out from lightly seated, jetting? see whats in it, go up 1 jet size at a time.

Old 02-20-2012, 03:31 PM
Trailblazer

Here's what I did
http://forums.atvconnection.com/suzu...questions.html