Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

1986 Suzuki 230cc Quadsport Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2013, 02:27 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1986 Suzuki 230cc Quadsport Help

So I was given a 1986 suzuki 230cc Quadsport, and it needs some TLC.

I'm not very experienced with ATVs so bare with me.

The Good:

• It runs, and it runs pretty good. Well, good enough for what I want it for.

The Bad:

• It won't start unless it's bomb started, which I can only do when I have a friend to help me out so I can't ride it whenever I want.

• The thumb piece for the throttle is broken off, although I just got a new one so that's not really a problem anymore.

• The exhaust is complete garbage, basically straight piped but done horribly, but also not a big issue right now.

• No battery start, pull cord only. It can use a battery, but it will not keep the battery charged, I also don't want to get a battery if it's not necessary, I'm fine with pull cord start.

• When it is in neutral, it revs up super super high. I don't know if this is a simple solution such as turning down the idle, or a bigger issue. I can't check right now as I can't get it started.

• When it finally does start, only after being bomb started of course. It will turn right off if I don't let it have a constant flow of gas. So basically I can't idle it. However, this problem stops when it is warmed up, this problem only happens from a cold start. It also starts instantly when it's warm, all the problems with it starting are from a cold start.

Mainly, I'm looking for a solution to starting it from a cold start without bomb starting it and without using electric start. If the solution is getting a battery and using the electric start, for some reason the ATV won't charge the battery and it will just die, how would I fix that problem?

I don't have much money to spend so I'm being as cost efficient as possible.

It has a brand new oil change, full tank of gas, and a clean carburetor.