Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

92 quadrunner cranking issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2017, 07:46 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 92 quadrunner cranking issue

I think i may have a stuck valve problem, but I am really not sure.

Recently acquired an old 250 quad runner 4x4 for a new project. it was not running and previous owner said it was clicking at solenoid when he went to start it, but it ran normally before that. Sounded easy enough; Got a new starter on and fixed some wiring issues, but now the new starter squeals like a banshee and won't turn the engine when i go to start it. BUT, when i take the spark plug out, it turns the engine no problem.

Does this sound like a stuck valve? I have no experience with top end issues like this, but my feeling is that the exhaust valve is stuck and won't let the pressure escape from the cylinder, and that pressure is too much for the starter to overcome.

Also, there is a decompression lever on the head. I can pull it with the recoil easily with the lever down *its a bear if you don't use the lever*, but i did not use the decompression lever for the electric starter.

Any advice on where to go next would be appreciated. Its looking like I got a bigger project than expected, but it should make for a *hopefully* low cost education.

Old 11-12-2017, 03:36 AM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 301 Likes on 295 Posts

Sounds like the one way starter clutch is on it's way out. Try turning the engine over on the starter when de-compressed, my guess is it will, and I bet the previous owner has been starting it that way for a while. Valves don't stick shut, only open, as they are opened by the cam which applies massive force, but closed by a fairly light spring, and maximum cylinder pressure can't go over the compression ratio until the engine starts anyway.

Old 11-13-2017, 08:24 AM
Weekend Warrior