Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Cleaning a Quad?

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2002, 12:48 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am pretty new to this whole quad thing. I had one many years ago and just washed it with a hose. What do you guys do to keep the plastic in top shape? My roommate has a DS-650 that looks like crap and I do not want my new Z to go down that road. My snowmobile is painted so that gets washed and waxed. I have no idea what to do for molded plastic. Any sugestions?

Old 08-09-2002, 01:01 PM
Range Rover

I just wash it like my car. I use a regular sponge and soap to wash it down with. I also use a soft bristled brush to get the mud off it before hand. It comes in really handy for under the fenders too. But I've learned that if you let mud set on the fenders for a while, it will stain your plastic. So as long as you get the mud off it after you ride, you won't have a problem.

Old 08-09-2002, 01:06 PM
Range Rover

I have found that the best way to keep it looking new is to use a small HP washer to get all the mud and dirt off. When it dries, lightly spray with armoral and wipe withdry cloth.

Old 08-09-2002, 07:25 PM
Range Rover

The absolute best thing I found for cleaning the quad is called HondaBrite. U should be able to get it at any honda dealer. Its expensive but a little goes a long way, just lightly mist it onto ur quad after u have hosed off all the loose mud, let t sit a couple of minutes and hose it off. This stuff works like magic.

Old 08-09-2002, 09:43 PM
Pro Rider

After I wash, on the plastic I have always used Eagle 1 Plastic - Protectant and Polish spray. The stuff is great. The small bottle will last years. I pick it up at Auto Zone.[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Old 08-09-2002, 10:43 PM
Pro Rider