Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

230 wont run, im stumped

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2003, 11:15 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 230 wont run, im stumped

put it together with a used top end, it fired right up, clutch shot and compression low, so I threw a new bore and piston, clutch plates and springs at it. (before dissassembly it refused to start, so I figured go ahead with the repairs) now it has like new compression, spark and gas, and will not fire. What should I look at? its and 85 or 86 LT230S. Could it be firing at the wrong time? how can it be adjusted-It seems to go together only one way. I tried all the obvious things, even starting fluid. I am a decent amatuer mechanic, but this things got me beat. CDI box? Coil? does the CDI (whatever) box under the tank control the time somehow? could it be "bad"??

Old 01-19-2003, 12:12 AM
Pro Rider

Did you adjust the valves on top dead center, and is the timing chain aligned top dead center. If it started right up before then I wound after that, and check and see if you have a spark to the plug.

Old 01-19-2003, 12:14 AM
Pro Rider

This is a four stroke right not a two stroke

Old 01-19-2003, 02:35 PM
Weekend Warrior

now it idles when pulled down the road, soon as ya hit the gas it bogs or stalls. I cleaned the carb 5 times.....really hard to start when it cools down...AARRGGGG

Old 01-20-2003, 12:34 PM
Pro Rider