Technical and How-To Articles Post your Tech Tips and How-to articles here. Photo illustrations welcome

I need help

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 07:59 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need help

My son's 110 BMX atv with a loncin engine has no electrical power even with new battery. I am an electrician, but i need help in troubleshooting the various parts that would interrupt power to the starter, etc.

Old 03-22-2009, 01:00 PM
Electrical Expert
Likes High Voltage In The Tub!
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default I need help

What do you mean by no elecrical power? Do the headlights work? Brake lights? (Ignition switch must be on of course).

Have you checked the main fuse? Get a voltmeter and measure the voltage on the battery terminals. What do you measure? Turn on the headlights. What do you measure then? Short across the starter solenoid terminals with a screwdriver. Does the starter turn? Do this with the headlights on (assuming they will turn on). Do the headlights go out when shorting the solenoid?

Old 03-23-2009, 06:05 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need help