Trailers, Toy Haulers, Motorhomes. Discuss Trailering, Toy Haulers, Campers and Motorhomes.

Toy Hauler Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2008, 07:46 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toy Hauler Newbie

Hi I'm totally new to toy hauling. My hubby and I bought an 08 American Freedom 24 footer in late Feb. and then put it into storage as we weren't going to be able to use it due to work schedules. So now were finally able to go out with it and it now April. The batteries are dead, is this normal? My dad let us borrow his battery charger and right now I'm charging them, one at a time, but I can't get the generator to start because of the batteries (right?) How long should it take to charge the batteries and be able to use the generator and the water pump?

Old 04-11-2008, 01:42 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

The batteries should not have gone dead in two months, unless something was left on. I'd look for a light, furnace, water pump, or something else that was left on. Check the break-away switch. If that got pulled, it will kill batteries promptly.

Even the best deep cycle RV batteries don't tolerate being drained down below about 10.5 volts too many times, and if they were flat dead and allowed to sit like that for 2 months it may have ruined them.

Anyhow, assuming they might recover, how long it will take them to charge depends on how large the batteries are, how big the converter/charger is, and what type it is (multi stage electronically controlled, or a cheaper single stage...

Be sure to check the water level in them before charging. Make sure the plates are covered, but don't get them too full as the electrolite level will rise as they charge, and as temp increases.

Old 04-25-2008, 12:41 AM
Pro Rider

I Bought my first toy hauler in May 2005
Boy what a learning experiance
We bought a 28' Desert Fox
My wife and I have found it is like keeping up a house but you never think of it that way but I have a simple routine