Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

New Quad

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2004, 09:14 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Quad

My first quad was a Kawasaki Bayou 250. I was riding with my dad this weekend and saw another group of riders. One of which was a Yamaha Wolverine. Now I'm relatively new to riding, but that half-breed intrigued me. I've been reading allot about the Wolverine and other quads around $5,000 and have come down to two quads, the Wolverine and the Suzuki Eiger 400 4x4 Manual LT-F400F. At my local dealer, both are the same price, so I’d like to know opinions of those who have ridden either, or both of these quads.

Old 09-10-2004, 02:14 AM
Pro Rider
Default New Quad

Eiger has selectable 4x4 and high and low range and larger displacement and more utility if needed.
I have raced wolverines in the sand and wooped them. But if Yamaha would do a little revamp on the wolverine then I might go that route. the wolverine does wiegh less.

Old 09-10-2004, 10:16 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default New Quad

I've liked the Wolverine since I had my Warrior. There's something attractive about a light 4x4 that is kind of sporty. I think this is an area where a lot of atv companies are lacking. It would be nice if Yamaha would update the Wolverine. New plastic and selectable 2 to 4x4. I guess the attraction is similar to having an old jeep or something. It has a little character. It's not trying to be well rounded to attract different types of people. It is what is, it's a sport 4x4.

The Eiger is trying to attract different types of people. It's a good quad with a selectable 4 wheel drive. It just doesn't have the charater of the Wolverine.

Either quad would be fun to ride. It really comes down to how and where you ride. Also which you like better.