Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

After mudding maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2005, 09:23 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After mudding maintenance

I went serious mudding this weekend. There was a lot of water and clay and mud that seemed to obscure even the color of the Grizz and the Twin Peaks. After about 7 hours of cleaning, I got almost all the mud off. I cleaned each radiator thoroughly. I checked the air boxes and both were bone dry. I greased up the joints on the Grizz also.
Is there any other maintenance I should do for each machine? I want these machines to last as long as possible. I thought this thread might be helpful for others also that have utilities. I'm new to the utes.

Old 09-06-2005, 10:04 PM
Pro Rider

Change your fluids check and grease your bearings check and clean air fliter an try to clean all the mud so it donst lay there and rust out your quad.

Old 09-06-2005, 11:07 PM
Pro Rider

I think you pretty much got it. Main thing is get rid of as much mud as you can. The radiator seems to be biggest thing then the lube. I have never had any problem with water or anything in the air filter box. Personaly I would not bother with fluids, these systems are sealed pretty well. Cleaning after mudding is can be a chore but is worth it to me, what a blast!!

Old 09-06-2005, 11:38 PM
Pro Rider

make sure your cv joints aren't wrapped with grass and make sure your boots aren't ripped one little stick can poke a hole or rip it pretty easy. another thing to keep in mind if you go out mud running yet want your atv to last a long time is to not let it sit in water to long. yes they are sealed very well but water can seep in the bearings drying them out which can suck when you have almost all sealed bearings.

Old 09-07-2005, 07:08 AM
Pro Rider